Mac Book Pro and 3ds Max: The baby-daddy needs lovin’

bootcamp_hero20071016.pngBoot Camp has been my baby-daddy. It has made my 3ds Max habit possible with my MBP guilty pleasure. Its never complained, or tried to get me treatment (It tried to get me into Co-dependents Anonymous, but I wouldn’t go unless it went with me). But now, the baby-daddy wants some respect. For those running 3ds max/WinXP (any flavor) on a Mac Book Pro, there is some news.

Here’s the email that landed in my in box this week.

“Dear Boot Camp enthusiast:

We hope you’ve enjoyed the opportunity to preview an exciting new feature of Mac OS X Leopard.

With the introduction of Leopard, the Boot Camp Beta program has ended. The Boot Camp Beta software will expire on December 31, and Apple won’t offer further updates of Boot Camp Beta for Mac OS X Tiger.

If you’d like to continue using Boot Camp, Apple invites you to upgrade to Mac OS X Leopard.”

The way they are making it sound is that Bootcamp will “expire” which means that it might no longer work. Though I have no specific knowledge of that, its makes sense to assume that. At the very least, I suspect it will not let you upgrade to any future updates of Boot Camp unless you are on Leopard. So for those of us in production gigs, why risk it?

I’m getting mine and when I do, that baby-daddy’s gonna get some payback. I will report on it when I upgrade.

Editor’s note: Here are the links to the 1st three parts of the MBP + 3dsMax experience. Part 1, Part 2, Part 3

Image courtesy of apple.com 

~ by learn3dsmax on December 4, 2007.

2 Responses to “Mac Book Pro and 3ds Max: The baby-daddy needs lovin’”

  1. have been trying to render a camera movement to qt movie on a mbp 2.4ghz/3gb ram/leopard using max7, but it keeps freezing halfway through the first frame. any thoughts?

  2. I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

Leave a comment